The pendulum has swung

The pendulum has swung so hard to the left that I am now skipping around in the sunshine, hoping that it will not hit me in the back of the head anytime soon as I deliriously enjoy it’s latest bounty.  

                                                   

Last two weeks: endless rain, cold, mudslides, trees crashing to earth, bringing power lines with them, earthquakes and tsunamis causing a change in the force, thousands of my fellow earthlings suffering.  Deep inside my cave I juggled mid-terms, a teenager, and a breaking heart.  Boo Hoo.

But now Spring has Sprung.  This week opened with a huge splash of blue skies and sunshine.  It is as if somebody decided enough was enough.  Out with the old, in with the new, a clean slate, it’s Springtime!  Bring on the big fuzzy bunny and some dark chocolate! 

Goodbye winter! See ya!  Thanks for all the rain, now don’t let the door hit you in the ass on way out!  Here’s your hat, what’s your hurry?  Bye-Bye now.

The forecast is for sun, sun, sun, from now until November.  That’s what I’m talking about.  Put the galoshes in the closet and the raincoat in the garage.  The umbrella needn’t ride shotgun any longer.

And as if the weather weren’t lovely enough, guess who got accepted into the Nursing Program at San Francisco State University for Spring 2012! 

I am beside myself.

And, in exchange for one measly forty-dollar video game, my almost-fifteen-year-old boy, has agreed to join a Saturday hiking class with me; six Saturdays, six different 4-6 mile hikes, led by a local naturalist.

Life is good and I am grateful.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in Amazing Stories, college, daily Life, Mother Nature, teens and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The pendulum has swung

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    That hiking group sounds great! I wish we had something like that around here. Take your camera! 🙂

    • Zahara says:

      Doesn’t it? The camera is coming along if only to document the rare occurence of my teen hiking, on a Saturday, with his mother. Don’t tell his friends.

  2. Congrats on being accepted to the nursing program!

  3. WOWOOWOWOWOW!!!! WHOOOOOOP! Congratulations tiger-mother-woman roar! way!

  4. sorry bout the heart thing too.

  5. duckofindeed says:

    Wait, you didn’t say who got accepted into the nursing program…
    Good job on getting into the program! I’m gleeful for you!

  6. Holy freakin’ cow!!! Congratulations on getting into the nursing program. That’s wonderful news. The hikes sound like a lot of fun, and how cool that your wee tall one will join you. 🙂

    The sun isn’t enough for me anymore. I need some warmth.

    • Zahara says:

      Streaming some warmth your way. Put your hand next to the breathing hole on your computer and feel it. It was 76 + here today, even in San Francisco it was hot, and that’s saying something.

  7. afrankangle says:

    WOW … lots a good news to celebrate. Congrats on program acceptance, getting a teen to hike, and a new “spring” in the step. …. so keep smiling! … and talk to the crossing guard. 🙂

  8. huffygirl says:

    Hurray for you future nursing student. Let me know if you need any help 🙂

  9. Artswebshow says:

    Your going hiking.
    Dont forget to wrap up warm. lol

  10. How did you do in statistics class a while back? When I took it in 1970 best I could do was a D and I had the test 5 hours beforehand. I learned, however, the bribing people for a test copy improves the “probability” of passing.

  11. I have this theory that most people’s moods directly correspond with the weather: ie. Happy when it’s sunny, down in the dumps when it’s rainy, etc.
    Mind you, I think that you couldn’t help but be happy right now, no matter the weather. Congrats on having it all together!

  12. afrankangle says:

    Hi Z. Just checking in to see if all if ok. 🙂

    • Zahara says:

      Howdy, Frank. You’re sweet to check on me! This week has been a bear at school. Tons of stuff to do before spring break – next week – Yee Ha! So blogging has been on the back burner. Hope all is well with you, too. Z

      • afrankangle says:

        Glad I brought a smile and to hear all is well … just overloaded. Will look forward to your stuff next week. I can’t recall, but hope you saw my spaghetti post last Monday and its wonderful video!

      • Zahara says:

        Spaghetti post? I’d like some garlic bread and a glass of red wine to go with that.

Leave a comment