hello, goodbye, crazy quilt

My mom is still here.  She has cleaned every inch of the house, except the garage.  She’s saving that for last.  I am so lucky to have a full-time housekeeper and cook.  She’s going back to Maine next week. 

Tomorrow is her 74th birthday.  Some of my friends are coming over for dinner and cake and ice cream.  They are saints.  They like my mom.

Oven-barbecued chicken, Boston baked beans, brown rice, green salad, corn bread.  Feels like summer, though there was a chance of snow predicted for today.  Highly unusual.  Never did snow today.

She wants a yellow cake with whipped cream frosting and strawberries, and so she shall have it.  I will make it because I am the resident cake-baker and because my mother wants it.  Anyone who cooks and cleans for me can have anything they want.

**********************************************

I saw Marty this week.  I gave him a box of his stuff and he gave me the bouquet of preserved, dusty, crispy, long-stemmed roses that have been sitting in a clear glass vase on the desk in his living room for the past year and a half.  They were huge and beautiful and fragrant and red when he gave them to me in July of ’09, the day he took me to the beach and asked me to marry him. 

Today I put them on top of the compost pile and cried a little.   It’s been one month since we called it off…

back to the earth, back to square one

In happier news, my mom and I, but mostly my mom, finished a quilt we started back in April of 2009.  For many years my mom would visit only once a year, and then only for a few days, ’cause she had to take care of my father who was always suffering from one ailment or another in his old age, and he did not like to travel. 

He died a year ago this month.  Actually, he died on her birthday, the greatest gift he could have given her, in the words of one neighbor.  So yeah, tomorrow is my mother’s birthday and my father’s deathday.  Weird.

So this year she’s staying for longer than three days, more like three weeks.  We finished the “crazy quilt”.  One of my friends had dozens of bags and boxes full of scrap fabrics, so we took some off her hands and created this wacky quilt.  My mom is an accomplished quilter, you should see some of the quilts she’s made…..hmmm…..there’s a blogpost in there.

voila!

A cozy colorful quilt.  Must be time for bed.  Have a happy weekend everybody!

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in daily Life, food, housework, posts with photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to hello, goodbye, crazy quilt

  1. Old girlfriend and her husband(he’s a fine fellow, better him than me) are 1960’s, 70’s types and he was a musician and they cut up old t-shirt souvenirs from rock concerts into one foot squares and had the quilt made. It is such a colorful, eclectic-electric-iconoclastic blast from the past. I bet these would sell for way over $500 apiece.

  2. Beautiful quilt! Congrats on finishing it!

    Mmmm…BBQ chicken.

    Why did he give you the flowers?

    • Zahara says:

      Thanks, Thoughts! If you’re not busy tonite, come on over and party with us.
      Why did he return the flowers? He probably didn’t want them gathering dust in his house anymore. Their time had come, one way or another. Difficult to keep them looking good after a while. I think they look good on the compost pile.

  3. Linda Lewis says:

    It sounds like you’ve had a wonderful visit with your mom. I so enjoyed those times when mine came. She liked cleaning my house and fixing food we liked, like chicken ‘n dumplings and fried peach pies. I miss those days.
    Good work on the quilt.

    • Zahara says:

      Glad you have fond memories of your mom’s visits. Reminds me that these times aren’t forever. Fried peach pies? I have never heard of fried peach pies, and yet I can taste them……Got a recipe?

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Have a great weekend Zahara! Your Mom does appear to be quite the Quilter. Sorry the flowers brought some sadness to you. Wishing you all the best! 🙂

  5. your mom; wow. “all i can say is wow.” – Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse by Kevin Henkes
    sorry bout your grief dear Z. pain. we stand beside u, like it or not. just try being alone. won’t happen.

  6. Hippie Cahier says:

    A belated Happy Birthday to your mom. I like her choice of birthday cake.
    You know, this one post carries so much of what life is all about. Kind of like a patchwork quilt. And that is a lovely one, by the way.

    • Zahara says:

      Hey, Hippie, Thanks, I’ll send the wishes on to my mom, she’ll love it, birthday wishes from the blogosphere!
      I like your comparison of the post to a quilt. A crazy quilt, no less! Sometimes I write a post and it feels so random and off the wall until someone like you comes along and sees the bigger picture. Cool.

  7. Happy Birthday to your mom. It sounds like you’ve had a great visit. I’m sorry there were a few tears mixed in, Z.

    • Zahara says:

      !Hola! ?como estas? I will forward the wishes to my mom.
      I hear I’m not the only one who still rolls their eyes in the presence of their mother.
      In real life the visit is going good, but of course she regularly drives me crazy, and vice versa no doubt.
      The party was fun once all the guests arrived. I saved a piece of cake for you.

  8. You are amaaaaazinng! I love your quilt! Do you have a lot of patience? Can I send you all my scraps…will you make one for me too?

    • Zahara says:

      I have patience sometimes. Do you? Send all those scraps my way, I have a garage to store them in. I will gladly make you a quilt, but you’d be better off having my mom make you one.

  9. huffygirl says:

    Lots of beginnings and ends in that post – bittersweet and happy rolled into one. I hope overall it turned out to be a good week.

    Maybe the flowers on the compost pile is a good thing – a new life for you and for them. Take care Z.

    • Zahara says:

      Thanks, Huffster. Love the compost pile, it represents the whole life cycle. The roses will decompose and become fertile soil for more roses to grow.

Leave a Reply

