meatloaf and mashed potatoes and moms

How can you be annoyed by a person who makes dinner for you and does dishes and tidies up little neglected corners of your home and convinces the teenager to apologize to his mad mother after he doesn’t show up when he says he will?

Well, ya can’t.  I’m getting spoiled over here with home-cooking.  Tonight we had meatloaf and mashed potatoes and baked carrots that were hot and tender and delicious with nothing but a little salt and pepper. 

I was in a thrift shop the other day and I bought this camera because it is the exact one my mom used to use when we were kids.  I know, you’d rather see a picture of the meatloaf.  It was too good to stop for photos.  Sorry.

Kodak Insta-Matic 104; five bucks.

Yesterday we went for a walk, Ivan and my mother and me, three generations, and I took along my handy-dandy new digital camera (until I can get my hands on some film for the Kodak).  Wish I could show you how cute the very large boy (6’5″, 250lbs) in his top hat and trenchcoat and purple and black hair looks standing next to his grandma, who is all of five feet tall.  Close your eyes and picture it.  I’ll wait…….

Instead I’ll show you one of the million pictures I took on our walk that I like.

going for the water bowl

I know, I know, I’m not supposed to shoot into the sun.  My photography teacher encourages us to break the rules.  I love being given permission to break the rules and get messy. 

Speaking of messy, it’s time for bed.  Gotta get up early and feed the teenager before sending him off into the world.  Maybe I can get grandma to do it……

Have a peaceful week, friends.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in daily Life, food, housework, posts with photos, teens, thrift shop finds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to meatloaf and mashed potatoes and moms

  1. Is that the groundhog looking at his shadow?

  2. Linda Lewis says:

    Lucky you to have a mom who still fixes your favorite foods and brings a little extra order into your life. Good luck finding film for your newly found camera. Does anyone still make it?

    • Zahara says:

      Yes, lucky me. My mom is great, spry and happy at 74.
      I’ll have to look into the camera thing, I don’t really care if I use it or not, I might just put it on a shelf for a conversation piece.

  3. I think you have fairies in your water bowl. 😉
    Glad you’re having a good time.

  4. I like the picture! Is that your horse?

    • Zahara says:

      No, not my horse, it lives nearby. I haven’t the time or the money to keep a horse, but someday I would like to play with them again. I’m horse crazy but I’ve never spent enough time in the saddle to get good at riding. Broke my leg coming off a horse when I was a teen and nearly broke my neck ten years later, so now I’m content to just admire them from the ground.

  5. Zahara…first off even seeing the title to this post made a hungry girl STARVIN’! 😉 Send some of that spoiled love this way! PS: “Well behaved women rarely make history” go ahead and bend the rules a bit! 😉

  6. huffygirl says:

    Hey Z, I used to have a camera like that – it was very high tech at the time. BTW, I nominated you for the Stylish Blogger Award. Here’s the link:
    http://huffygirl.wordpress.com/

    • Zahara says:

      Huffygirl! I am so flattered. Especially now, coming from a recently FRESHLY PRESSED blogger extraordinaire like yourself. Thank You, Thank You. Thank you for remembering us little people.

  7. afrankangle says:

    You’re right …. I was looking for the meatloaf … I love meatloaf … well, those with good recipes like the one I use.

Leave a Reply

