What’s that smell?

If you’re a member of my generation you needn’t watch the video.

The good news:

No more endless driving.

My fish will no longer be lonely and hungry on the weekends.

More time to ride my bike.

More time to pester my teenager.

Good excuse to drink whiskey.

No more pesky diamond ring on the finger to bug me when I interlock my fingers and stretch my arms.

I can blog all I want.

Maybe I’ll get a few chickens for the backyard.

More time to nurture my friendships. 

My house can start to feel like a home, instead of a hotel room.  I can settle in. 

Yesterday I hemmed by hand one curtain for my bedroom while watching “Elizabeth I”.  It felt strange to be sitting there on the end of my bed, placidly sewing, stitch by careful stitch, while Mary Queen of Scots got her head chopped off.

One less cumbersome thing to juggle.

We will always be friends.  This sounds corny, but we’ve been friends for 12 years.

Sometimes loss is a gift. 

I’m still in the disbelief stage, but I think it’s all for the best, for now.

So, yeah, the engagement is off. 

Love doesn’t stink, long-distance relationships do.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in cycling, daily Life, Love, Not-so-amazing stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What’s that smell?

  1. wondering how u r? hoping u r still as good as u sound in your articulate post. whom of us havent been r r currently at where u r right now? u r not alone. tons of cyber hugs coming your way. keep on

    • Zahara says:

      Dredging through the months it took to make this decision was difficult……..now that the decision is made I feel a huge burden lifted off of me. So far, so good.

  2. Elizabeth I was fantastic despite a few historical errors. I love the period pieces, costumes, buildings, furniture. As a history teacher I can really get transported into the film and see it almost as a participant as opposed to an observer.

  3. Oh, Z. I hope you’re doing okay. Sending good vibes your way.
    Don’t forget Gloria Gaynor.

  4. I would like to say I love you sister! I would also like to suggest some Enya…and maybe a getaway weekend! Things in life happen regardless…heart ache is not a fun one. If you need anything let me know! xoxo

  5. Oh Zahara. I am so sorry to hear this, but know what you are saying about the months to make the decision being hard. I can’t imagine what you are feeling right now, but do know that you are strong and can get through the other side of the heartache. Very good to know you feel you two can still be friends. Love the achy breaky heart song. Take care.

  6. I’m glad you’re doing well!

    When my engagement was over, it didn’t really hit me until 2-3 weeks later. Have ice cream on hand for that. And my email address handy, just in case.

    • Zahara says:

      Thank you, Thoughts! It is a little eery how it hasn’t really hit me yet……I’ll be sure to stock the freezer in anticipation. I still have alot of pop-tarts, too.

  7. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I am so sorry to hear about the engagment. Your attitude is admirable. My best wishes to you in these coming weeks when the emotional impact of this might really hit home. Keep smiling!

  8. mimie says:

    After reading the entry, I want to stay feeling down and sad with you … but, i love “Sometimes loss is a gift” … so, this is must be a greatest gift of all …
    Cheer up dear!
    A perfect+better+angelic one will immediately snatch you away to heaven
    send a pray for you,from here,on Malaysia wind
    😉

  9. afrankangle says:

    Sure you hurt, but you are doing the best possible – and that is moving forward in the best positive light as one can expect – so you must see a more positive light in tomorrow. Do your best!

Leave a Reply

