Crunchy, salty, sweet and peachy.

January 20th is National Buttercrunch Day. 

Buttercrunch is American toffee, toffee coated with chocolate and almonds, so sayeth his Google-ness.  Not to be confused, lest you irritate an Englishman, with English toffee.  Go here for a detailed explanation:

http://www.thenibble.com/reviews/main/candy/toffee/toffee-information2.asp

Because he is a very fabulous gift-giver, and a Costco shopper, I received this amazing basket of goodies from Ivan for Christmas:

Snacks Ahoy! More packaging than actual product...

He knows me so well.  When I’m home alone, I don’t cook, I snack. 

For dinner tonight I will have the Cashew Roca, in preparation for National Buttercrunch Day.  Tomorrow I will eat the Toffee Almonds.  No I won’t.  I ate them twenty minutes ago.   But I’ll be thinking of them tomorrow, fondly.

In other news…

It’s possible that a certain blogger made a cake this weekend in honor of National Peach Melba Day.  Actually, she made it in honor of having graced this planet for the last 47 years. 

Peach Melba-inspired birthday cake

She made a butter cake and replaced some of the flour with finely ground, toasted almonds.   She also replaced half the vanilla with almond extract.  We had no ice cream.  We were up on the mountain at Marty’s, far from the store.  Vanilla ice cream would have put this thing over the top.  

Now if you’ll excuse me, I think I’ll just slip into a coma…..

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in daily Life, food, Mendocino, posts with photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Crunchy, salty, sweet and peachy.

  1. how do u stop from eating it all? that’s my biggest problem. and girl u can cook.

  2. Happy Birthday! That basket has a nice assortment of snacks. I would have eaten the Cashew Roca twenty minutes ago, too.

    • Zahara says:

      Thank you. I was impressed with the assortment also. The quality? Eh, not so much. Lots of temptingly designed boxes and foil bags, though. More money probably went into the packaging than the food. I saved some of the boxes to use for collages.
      There were two little logs of Cashew Roca in a box that could have housed ten. I should have saved one for you….

  3. Your simple desert looks so elegant!

    • Zahara says:

      Thank you. All those years working in fancy restaurants taught me a thing or two about plating food.
      The best part about this cake was spending a leisurely afternoon making the cake and the raspberry puree, while my son and his best friend romped around and Marty puttered about doing his thing.

  4. You should start a restaurant or a bakery! That Peach Melba looks delightful!

  5. Linda Lewis says:

    You are killing me with these days! Right now I’m munching/crunching a sea salt/caramel chocolate bar that I got in Peru. Can that count as a substitute for the toffee? xox

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Can I join you in your coma? I am starving after reading this post! 🙂

  7. afrankangle says:

    A first time visitor drops by and sees that you celebrate both National Buttercrunch Day and your birthday on the same day. So at least I can say “Happy Birthday” … but I also love the looks of the peach melba cake. Enjoy Your day!

    • Zahara says:

      The blogosphere tends to distort the view of days, these two celebrations were a few days apart in reality. Thanks for stopping by, and a happy day to you, too.

  8. duckofindeed says:

    Happy day of birth! Wow, a yummy looking cake. And what an awesome present you got! Gift baskets are awesome!

Leave a Reply

