cream of the crop and mother’s coffee cake

Some pictures I like.

Super Hoolie, Mendocino

Unflattering shadows made us laugh

 

Jewish Coffee Cake, from my mother’s recipe box.  This recipe is really easy and delicious.

Cream 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup soft butter.  Add 2 eggs, 1 cup sour cream, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and mix well. 

In a separate bowl, combine 2 cups flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, and a pinch of salt.  Add to the wet ingredients and beat ’til smooth.

Prepare a mixture of chopped walnuts, (about 1 cup), 1/8 cup sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon  cinnamon.   The measurements for this walnut-sugar-cinnamon topping/filling are negotiable, depending on your taste.

Place 1/2 the batter in a bundt pan or a 9″ square or round pan that has been buttered.

Sprinkle half the cinnamon-sugar-walnut mixture evenly over the batter.  Cover with the remaining batter and sprinkle the top with the remaining cinnamon-sugar-walnut mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees Farenheit for about 45 minutes.  Check after 35 minutes.  A toothpick or a very thin knife should come out clean, and the top should spring back when pressed gently.  Eat it while it’s hot!

My mom made this alot when we were kids, and she still does, and so do I.

I remember one time she made it and we were all crowded into the kitchen, anticipating, drooling, a few neighborhood kids were there in addition to my mom’s four kids.  The cake finally came out of the oven and we were all served a slice, whereupon we all simultaneously and with horror had to spit it out!  My mom had accidentally used salt instead of sugar!

A few more pictures to cleanse your palates:

Pre-Christmas shenanigans

Nicasio Reservoir, on my way home tonight

A cloud caught my eye as I approached the reservoir, and I ended up parking and walking down to the water’s edge and getting giddy with the sunset!  If there was any question in my mind earlier in the day about whether or not to invest in a better camera, this experience made up my mind and the answer is “GET A NEW CAMERA!”

Unusual Thistle reminded me of a woman, hands on hips, wearing a fancy hat

I hope that life treats you kindly this week.

Do drop in and say a few syllables….

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in daily Life, food, Mendocino, Mother Nature, posts with photos, Recipes, Travels, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to cream of the crop and mother’s coffee cake

  1. I’m definitely making that cake!!!

  2. I totally saw the woman’s hands on her hips for the thistle before you said that!

    That coffee cake looks good! And like you said, relatively easy! Once a recipe goes past 10 ingredients, I begin to seriously question how much I really want to make it.

    • Zahara says:

      Right on, Thoughts! Not that I’ve studied thistle much, though I have often admired them, but I’d never seen one that was as expanded and hairy-leggy-hatty as this one, so poofed out and awesome. Wish I had taken more/better pics of it.
      So easy, the coffee cake. My mom doesn’t even use a second bowl (blasphemy!) she just dumps the dry ingredients on top of the wet without mixing them first, which goes against everything I believe in, (OCD?), making it easier than ever…..try it, you will be rewarded!

  3. Linda Lewis says:

    I’m having morning coffee and would love to have a piece of the coffee cake. A morning visit or walk among the lovely places you show would be good, too.

    • Zahara says:

      Good Morning! Let me cut a nice thick slice of warm cake for each of us to enjoy with our respective beverages, coffee in your cup, tea in mine. Then we will head out for a walk.
      You should see Pierce Point in the spring time. Wildflowers as tall as the car line the road, and all the hills are bright green. It is breathtaking. Bucket-list stuff!

  4. Reggie says:

    Oooh, coffee cake! But… erm… why is there no coffee IN the cake? Was that an oversight? Do I need new glasses? Or is the coffee drunk WITH the cake? I’m a teensy bit puzzled.

    Thank you, by the way, for leaving some comments on my blog, Zahara. I always enjoy getting to know friendly bloggers. 🙂

    • Zahara says:

      You got it, the cake is meant to be eaten with coffee. Tell no one, but I regularly enjoy it with tea. Variations abound. I have a great recipe for strawberry-rhubarb coffee cake that is way too good and deserves a National holiday, unfortunately all the days have been spoken for!
      I’ve really enjoyed the last few blog posts of yours, especially the flamingo encounter! I am now fascinated with South Africa.

  5. duckofindeed says:

    Fun pictures. The “unflattering shadows” reminds me of how my reflection on the side of a car makes me look all short and fat. Very unflattering.

Leave a Reply

