Less talk, more walk: Pierce Point, part three

So, to recap: blue skies, big wind, ear ache,

turn around, touch the ground, get out of town.

Return, see coyote, admire horse.

 Buckle your seatbelts, earthlings. 

 The road passes right through the middle of a ranch. 

Ten-Mile Beach over one shoulder….

Tomales Bay over the other.

If you look closely, you can see a string of white dots running up the ridge.  Tule Elk.

 Seeing a herd of Tule Elk up close makes the return worthwhile.

Big Daddy recommends I keep my distance.  Notice the collars on the ladies.

 And then there were these amazing puff ball mushroom shells.

I love these things.  But I love my Marty more, so I better wrap this up, and go hang with the blog-widower.

Love your comments.  Have a happy weekend everybody!

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in animal stories, daily Life, Mother Nature, posts with photos, Travels, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Less talk, more walk: Pierce Point, part three

  1. These pictures are obviously manufactured fakes of some kind. There is not ANYPLACE on the earth that remains with such pristine beauty to my knowledge. Where are the ocean front condos like rows of dominoes? The traffic, the smog, the litter and deserted slums? Are those stuffed animals of some kind? All the animals are extinct to my knowledge. Except roaches. And mosquitoes. I hear no gunshots in the night and sirens in the day emitting from the pictures. Why did you put such unnatural make-believe beauty on the post that does not exist? Certainly not in Miami.

    • Zahara says:

      Carl, I guess we live on opposite ends of the world. Have faith, these places still exist, no Photoshop required. Ever been to California? You’d love it.

  2. Gorgeous. That’s some mushroom. It’s huge!! You’re making me want to learn how to take a proper photo.

    • Zahara says:

      Since starting a blog, I rarely leave the house without my little point-and-shoot in hand. Being able to take a zillion pictures inexpensively with a digital camera really has helped me take better pictures. My fabulous fiance is threatening to give this starving student a bigger, better camera for her birthday. I am so stoked. And I’m taking a basic digital photography class next semester. Spoiled rotten.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Awesome looking place and great photos! Definetly NOT North Texas….that’s for sure! Have a great weekend! 🙂

    • Zahara says:

      Hey you, thanks for visiting. Hope you’re feeling good today! Northern California is beautiful, after 25 years of living here, I never tire of it’s beauty. You should come for a visit.

  4. mimie says:

    More walk and more talk please ….
    Is that really a mushroom? (referring to MRD’s comment)
    At first,I thought it was some egg or something….haha
    Silly me.Gotta go out more

    • Zahara says:

      Yes, it’s really a mushroom. They start out looking alot like eggs, these were probably white and intact when they were young, then they explode and send their spores out into the world, then dry up and look like these. They look like nests or ceramic bowls to me, so earthy!

  5. Love the elk and the mushroom shells. Thanks for sharing this beautiful walk. It really was worth your while to take the second trip to experience what you had hoped for with earache friend and others.

    I have to take Big One to work today and will take the camera along to capture the HUGE snowfall we got last night. The roads are now plowed but this morning the accidents were so plentiful they couldn’t even provide traffic reports except to say there are accidents everywhere.

    • Zahara says:

      When I came over the rise and saw the elk so close, with the mouth of the bay in the background, I was so happy. I wanted to jump up and down and yowl! But I kept quiet, celebrating inside, YES!, so I wouldn’t cause a stampede!
      Wow, all that snow you got, hope your travels are safe and that you capture some good snow photos! Gotta get one of Big Girl flipping burgers! Have fun.

  6. Bee says:

    Oh, marvelous! I love beautiful pictures of remote places.

  7. Awesome pics! I’m glad you said they were elk. I was just about to comment asking, “What’s up with the weird-looking deer?

  8. Your pics are delightful! You have a real talent there Zahara! That scenery is just wonderful!

  9. duckofindeed says:

    More lovely pictures! What an odd looking mushroom. I once found a big white mushroom that was about the size and shape of a soccer ball.

  10. Zahara says:

    I’m glad you didn’t kick the soccer-ball size puffball. It actually kind of bugs me when people kick mushrooms!

Leave a Reply

