Pierce Point, Part One

The other day I took a hike with Jim and Kate and Chantal and Ivan, out onto Pierce Point, one of the corners of the Point Reyes Peninsula.  Pierce Point is flanked on one side by the Pacific Ocean, and it’s tip is at the mouth of Tomales Bay.  At several places upon the one road that takes you out to Pierce Point you can look to one side and see the vast open ocean, then look in the opposite direction and see the beautiful bay below.

It was an extremely windy day.  It was also a gorgeous blue-sky day.

The wind was the type that wants to steal your hat (especially Top Hats) and turn your coat into wings and carry you off to parts unknown….

To be continued.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in Mother Nature, posts with photos, Travels, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Pierce Point, Part One

  1. “turn your coat into wings”

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Looks like a beautiful place 🙂

  3. Hippie Cahier says:

    “…carry you off to parts unknown…” That’s what your photos do. Thank you for these snippets of beauty.

    • Zahara says:

      Thank you, Hippie Cahier, and you’re welcome. Your blog name always makes me sing in my head “Yippee Yi-Yay”, like an old cowboy song whose name I don’t know.

  4. mimie says:

    I would kill to be there !

  5. wow what a beautiful setting although the wind would of driven me insane it is the one thing I can’t handle

    • Zahara says:

      Hi there! Yes, the wind, it was brutal and I know what you mean, it can be drive a person crazy, but it was such a beautiful day and our spirits were high, so we pressed on. Stay tuned, though.

  6. Wow! Take about lifting your spirits… RT

  7. Linda Lewis says:

    In your head, did you go to parts unknown? That’s a great image. Zahara, I hope 2011 brings you all you are hoping for. You will definitely be closer to attaining your goal of becoming a nurse. I’m pulling for you. xoxox

    • Zahara says:

      In my head, I was in the moment, loving being in the wild wind in a beautiful place with my son and my friends. Invigorating!
      All the best to you, Linda, in the New Year and beyond!

  8. What a great visual you have given me. My husband gets irritated by wind…so I always say to him “the wind is not your friend”. I don’t let it get to me unless it is a frigid day, the wind is taking control of me, and I have to be outside (instead of by choice like your day).

    I look forward to the next part of the story.

  9. duckofindeed says:

    Pretty place. You won’t steal MY top hat, wind! Or my tricorn!

  10. nadia says:

    What a beautiful place!

    “turn your coat into wings and carry you off to parts unknown….” What if those wings carry me back here in the middle of the desert where I live? *gasp* I’d rather have no wings when I’m there 😀

Leave a Reply

