Running the Gauntlet

I ran the gauntlet tonight, and it was worth it. 

It is pouring rain.  I drove out to the coast.  (*For the second time today)  Jim and Kate were at the end of that drive, bearing turkey soup loaded with fresh veggies, a glass of wine, a hunk of bread, and friendship.

.

I was too knocked out with a cold on Christmas Day to drop by then.  Today seemed like a good day to visit, despite the rain.  I had grown tired of staring at the lonely walls of my house, with only a box of Kleenex and my computer for company.                           

I packed a few extra things in case I was forced by the weather to spend the night.  The road between here and there often floods.  My worst fear, however, was that a tree would fall on my car while I was driving through the heavily wooded state park.  A woman was killed in just such a manner a few years back on the very road I intended to traverse.  During these winter storms, where it rains heavily for days, accompanied by strong winds, trees fall with some regularity.  Huge Douglas Firs and Oaks.  Not fun.

   By the time I swallowed my last spoonful of soup I was ready to head out the door.  I found my car in the pitch black driveway and backed out onto the narrow road.  It was raining harder than ever.  I tuned in to the local station.  “Have Faith” crooned somebody. 

 My wipers were on full speed.  I hit the occasional deep puddle, deep enough to slow the car with a hearty “whoosh”.  I wondered if driving fast would decrease my chances of being hit by a falling tree.  Less time in the forest means less chance of getting squished.  “Mythbusters” proved that you get no less wet by running through the rain as opposed to walking through the rain.  Does this apply to falling trees, too? 

My heart beat faster as I entered the gauntlet, the deep, dark forest, the place where the road is lined on either side by gigantic trees.  I talked to them, and asked them to please stand tall and firm in their roots, just for a few more minutes while I scooted on through.    Mavis somebody sang “God is listening”.  Were the trees listening?  I was reminded of the many times I ran up the cellar steps of my childhood home, up and out of the dark, scary cellar, as fast as my little legs could carry me, scared out of my wits, sure that a boogey-man was hot on my tail.

                                                      

I’m home now.  I made it.  The rain is dumping down on my dry little abode and I am safe inside, with nary a tall tree in sight.

     

*Earlier in the day I went to the coast with Ivan for a follow-up doctor’s exam after his bout with Pneumonia.  All clear!  His lungs are fine, and he is a strong, healthy, pesky teenager once more.

                                

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in daily Life, food, Mother Nature, Not-so-amazing stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Running the Gauntlet

  1. That turkey and veggie soup looks good! I’m glad you made it home safely and your son is all better!

    • Zahara says:

      Soup was gooood, just the thing on a rainy night….
      And now that you mention it, I see a parallel between the guantlet of the park full of big trees threatening to tumble down and the sickness that my son went through. We both pulled through. Hooray.

  2. I get spooked easily too. I think I would have been right there with you! Loving your pictures this post 🙂 “heeheehee”

    • Zahara says:

      Most of the pictures are Clip Art. The one of the car driving through the trees was taken in the very park I speak of, but on a much nicer day, and in an area where the trees aren’t as thick as they are in other places.

  3. I face the same gauntlet going from the bedroom to the dining room. This must be Edgar Allen Poe’s old house.

  4. omawarisan says:

    You dont get any less wet by running…but there has to be some benefit in reducing misery by convincing yourself you’ve cheated the rain, bogey man or killer trees.

    I’m happy you and Ivan have outrun pneumonia.

    • Zahara says:

      Thank you, Omawarisan, outrunning the pneumonia feels good. We took a nice hike today to celebrate his clean bill of health.
      Running definately feels more natural when you’re stressed, fight or flight!

  5. So glad to hear of the return of your son’s health. And I am easily spooked also….you did good by facing it to enjoy the company of good food with friends.

  6. Your references to the songs that were playing reminded me that when I’m driving in scary conditions (at night in a bad storm), I tend to reach for the same tunes. The Eagles (Peaceful Easy Feeling) or any Latino music because I just can’t be anything but happy when I listen to Latino music.

    • Zahara says:

      The great thing was that I didn’t choose the music, it was on the radio, the only station, the local station, and it was perfect. I’ve been listening to Latino radio lately in preparation for studying Spanish next semester. Happy!

      • Good for you. I was a Spanish Language and Literature major in college. I love languages. I always found that watching telenovelas (Spanish soap operas) was helpful. There was also a great show on PBS many years ago. I think it was called Destinos. It was all in Spanish, but for a beginner learning the language. It was the story of a woman trying to solve a family mystery. Very entertaining and easy to follow.

      • Zahara says:

        Wow, Destinos sounds great, I’ll look for it. Love the idea of soaking up a language that way, thanks for the tip!

  7. Hippie Cahier says:

    Was that Mavis Staples helping you through?

    So glad you’re all well and safe and sound. Happy New Year.

  8. duckofindeed says:

    Yay! I’m glad Ivan’s better! And that you weren’t squished! Trees can be pretty scary for things that can’t even walk.

Leave a Reply

