Scone-O-Rama

Get 'em while they're hot!

Here is what you feed a kid with Pneumonia, a six-foot-five, 250-pound fourteen year old who has hardly eaten in six days.  A kid, by the way, who is feeling a lot better and coughing a lot less now, thank you.

Blueberry Cream Scones

I got the recipe here: http://5secondrule.typepad.com/my_weblog/2008/05/lora.html, a great food blog.  The author, Cheryl Sternman Rule, is very funny and friendly and occasionally outrageous.   I cut the recipe in half and used blueberries instead of fresh cherries.

The next day he requested an old favorite, Orange Scones.  I searched high and low for my recipe.  No luck.  I ended up finding a version of it on the internet.  It originally came from one of Marion Cunninham’s delightful and delicious little books.  I think it was “The Supper Book”, if not, it was “The Breakfast Book”.

Orange Scones

In the book these are called something like Orange Scone Berry Cakes.  They are simultaneously sweet, crispy, and soft little cakes.   Here’s the recipe.  You’ll wanna make these on Christmas morning.

Orange Scones

The dough:

2 cups minus 2 Tablespoons flour 

 (I used 1 cup cake flour and 1 cup minus 2 T. all-purpose flour)

1 Tablespoon Baking Powder

1 teaspoon Salt

2 Tablespoons Sugar

1/3 cup butter

1 egg beaten

1/2 cup heavy cream

The filling:

2 Tablespoons melted butter

2 Tablespoons grated orange peel

2/3 cup Sugar  (this seems like alot to me.  I will use less next time. Don’t tell Ivan)

The method:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Farenheit.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper if you have it, or simply leave the pan ungreased.  I like to bake these one sheet at a time in the very middle of the oven, and I nest two insulated baking sheets one on top of the other because my oven is weird and it likes to burn the bottoms of my cookies, etc.  Skip this if your oven is normal, but be careful not to burn the bottoms of these babies.

Over a bowl filled with the 2/3-ish cup sugar, gently scrape just the outer peel of 2-4 oranges with a fine grater so the zest lands in the sugar.  Mix the sugar and zest together with your juicy fingers.  Set aside. 

In a medium sized bowl, combine Flour, Baking Powder, Salt, and the 2 Tablespoons of Sugar.  Cut in chilled Butter.  I like to use a grater and very cold butter for this.  I grate all but 2 Tablespoons of a stick of butter into the flour mixture, and then quickly mix it  together with my fingers, squeezing and blending.

Combine the Egg and the Cream, whisking them together with a fork.  Add cream/egg mixture to the flour mixture.  Stir ’til combined.

Turn out onto a floured board and knead for one minute.  You will need to re-flour your hands and the board frequently. 

Shape into a rough rectangle, rolling the dough with a rolling-pin if you like, ’til the rectangle is approximately 8 x 14 inches.  Spread the melted butter (what remains from the stick you grated earlier) evenly over the dough and sprinkle with the sugar/orange zest mixture.

Roll up from the long side, then cut 1 inch slices.  Place the slices cut side down on a cookie sheet lined with parchment (or ungreased and no parchment).  Allow room between them, they spread a bit. Bake for 10-12 minutes in your pre-heated 400 degree F oven.  Pull ’em out when they look like the picture up top, lightly browned and puffy.

Eat ’em while they’re warm, with a nice, hot cup of tea alongside. 

Happy Holidays!

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Scone-O-Rama

  1. Blueberry looks great. Already thinking variations. Perhaps cream cheese or farmer’s cheese as filling with drizzle melted sugar. Or walnut or pecans ground well with honey like that Greek stuff. (it is too early to search and find out how to spell it and all so “stuff” will just have to do).

  2. These look like yummy recipes. I love the tip to grate the cold butter.
    Can I come be sick at your house?

    • Zahara says:

      You can come be sick at my house as long as it’s either during Winter break or Summer vacation.
      I have this really cool vintage grater that I got at the local “Holly Fair” for ten cents that has extra large holes and it works perfectly. Regular box graters work well, too.

  3. So yummy! Thanks for sharing! And I am with Margaret…my immunity would thank you but, my hips probably wont…dun dun dun….

    Much love and happy baking!

    • Zahara says:

      Thanks Rose Bandit. I’m with you, I would be a cow if I baked as much as I wanted to. When I do bake I end up giving some away to my grateful neighbors just so I won’t eat it all. Cheers!

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Now I am starving!!!! Thanks! As the cook of the family, I appreciate the recipe! Have a great day! 🙂

    • Zahara says:

      If you don’t mind voluptuous harem members with sweet lips and wide hips, I would like to be the official harem baker.
      Do try the orange scones, I made my first batch 15 years ago, and they are often requested. The blueberry ones are great, too, made with cream and no butter.

  5. Those both look and sound soooo good. Want to bake them at my house Christmas morning?

    I’m glad your son is feeling better!

  6. omawarisan says:

    Oh my God, he is 6’4 at 14? I wish my Mom made scones!

    Happy he’s feeling well in time for the break from school.

    • Zahara says:

      I am sure the scones are responsible. Ever been tickled by someone who is 8 inches taller and outweighs you by 90 pounds? It’s unnerving, but it tells me he’s back to his old self. Thank you for reading, Oma.

Leave a Reply

