cutting into my blogging time

Marty, ducking into the "long barn", house in background

This whole going to school business is cutting into my blogging time.  Do my professors think it’s easy being a blogger?  Yes, yes they do.  Otherwise they wouldn’t pile me up with essays and projects and critiques on a regular basis.  They might cut me a little slack for the important things in life.

Is blogging a form of literature?  Let’s hope so, ’cause it’s one of the examples I’m gonna use in the essay I’m writing for my reading and composition class.  I’ll finish the essay tomorrow ’cause I’m too tired to think about it any more tonight.  Funny though, when I hit the old “add new post” button  my fingers came alive, trying to keep up with my ricocheting thoughts.  Good thing I can type a good 25 wpm with only one mistake every other word….

Went for another walk on Saturday, followed this creek up into a canyon

Posing on a moss-covered boulder

Okay, okay, enough walking in the woods, I’m falling asleep at the wheel here, reading James Joyce while the pictures upload.  Can anyone clue me in to how I can speed up the process?

I’ve got a leaf fetish.   Here are two pictures from the drive home yesterday.

An army of leaves on the sidewalk, as yet undisturbed

  I made two stops, one for a tasty pastry, the other I just had to pull a U-turn and take a picture of these two trees:

It is as if these trees dropped all of their bright bounty in one night.

I guess you had to be there.

Goodnight.  Please leave copious quantities of comments for me to rake up in the morning.

Go see this sight if you like dem leaves:http://lifemadesavory.com/2010/12/14/tokyo-nezu-museum-and-gardens/  check out this post and the two before it.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in daily Life, Love, Mendocino, Mother Nature, Petaluma, posts with photos, Travels, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to cutting into my blogging time

  1. duckofindeed says:

    More fun pictures! Hooray! Good luck on finding more time to blog! Those professors don’t realize how important of a service you provide!

  2. What!!! No photos of the tasty pastry????!!!!! You’ve got to know your readers, Z, and I need a photo of the pastry. 🙂

    Regarding your line “Guess you had to be there,” you made me feel I was. Great photos.

    • Zahara says:

      So sorry, pastry lovers! But the poor thing didn’t stand a chance, it was gone before I could wrestle my camera from it’s pouch. Next time I’ll be better prepared! In the meantime, I’ll describe it’s deliciousness to you. Wonderful little bakery in downtown Healdsburg, CA, I bought a loaf of rustic Italian country bread, a blueberry scone, and, la piece de resistance, my whole reason for pulling off the freeway, a donut-muffin. Donuts are my favorite food group. This one was crunchy-cinnamon-sugar topped, underneath soft fluffy buttery nutmeg infused cakeyness, like the best cinnamon-sugar donut you ever ate only better ’cause it’s a muffin and it’s freshly baked and I am drooling in reminiscence. Goes down very nicely with a cold little carton of milk.

  3. omawarisan says:

    Those professors are going to have to get their priorities in line.

    I’ve never seen leaves fall simultaneously like that. I hope it doesnt snow that way too.

  4. Hippie Cahier says:

    There is no way to speed up the reading of James Joyce.

    Hang in. It’s worth it!

    • Zahara says:

      I’m re-reading Joyce’s “Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man”, we didn’t spend too much time on it in class because we worked over-time on Homer. Thanks for the encouragement, I’m more interested now. regarding speeding up the process, I was referring to uploading photos. I think I need more memory on computer, too many photos.

      • Hippie Cahier says:

        Sorry about that. Apparently, I was in poor communication mode last night, leaving careless comments all over everyone’s blogs! The “speed up” comment was my feeble attempt at Joyce humor. 🙂 Glad you’re not slogging through Ulysses!

        And the “it’s” was all the hard work and imposition on your blog time. That, as you well know, is definitely worth the final outcome.

        I share your leaf fetish.

      • Zahara says:

        Whew, glad we got that cleared up! Good thing we can’t (yet) get ticketed here in the blogosphere, you know, BUI. 🙂

  5. Your pictures were all gorgeous!!!
    I once sat uploading photos…. Must have been hours. Put them into the perfect spots, had to make sure the writing around them looked okay- nothing crowded….you know- the joys of working on a beautiful blog. Suddenly, crash, boom, bang- all disappeared, except the post. I almost cried…. It had literally been hours of pain staking work. Decided after that, that I was too scared to chance it again.
    So now, you may just get one or two.
    Xx

    http://husbands4hire.wordpress.com

    • Zahara says:

      OOOOOooohhhh, I feel your pain. That has happened to me, too. I really need to take the time to learn more the ins and outs of wordpress photo stuff. I have learned to hit the save draft button more regularly. I think it will go faster once I get more memory for the computer. In the meantime, I do little bursts of housework in between photos.
      I am so glad you stopped by, have a good day, and I’ll be visiting you soon. Z

  6. Linda Lewis says:

    Oh, if we only didn’t have other things going on in our life, how much more fun blogging would be. Even if you don’t get it all done, it’s in your head right along with the mind pictures that never get posted.

    • Zahara says:

      So true, so true. Blogging has really crept into my life and mind. I’m always mentally writing a post or taking a picture to share, rather than focusing on the present!

  7. These pictures are beautiful!

  8. I dig the mushys and the leaves, are any of them edible?
    Looks very cold over there!

    • Zahara says:

      Hello, Juanita, thank you for stopping by. I love your blog, your photos are beautiful. I have never seen trees of those colors before.
      I’m sure some of the mushrooms are edible, but I don’t know which ones so I eat them only with my eyes. Years ago I had a mushroom-expert-friend with whom I would hunt and we collected Boletus Edulus, Chanterelles (yellow and black), Candy Caps, Hedgehogs, Mazatakis, and more, that we cooked and ate regularly. Quiche was the best!
      It’s not too cold, today, damp though. We get lots of rain in winter and occasional snow in the mountains up where Marty lives.

Leave a Reply

