bear sign, hoofenwoofers, fun with fungi, and a Mendocino sunset

Friday, mental health day.  Only one more essay to write (the value of literature) and a critique in ceramics class and I am finished with the semester.  Turned in my final Statistics project on Wednesday.  I am so done with that.

So, a walk in the woods up at Marty’s place, hunting mushrooms for fun, and the dogs to keep me from getting lost.

^This^ is what bear shit looks like after it’s been rained on a few times.

Lots of acorns underfoot, attracting the bears.

That would be Annabelle.

Handsome Hoolie, checking for squirrels.

A forest of ferns below the spring and beside the creek.

Mushrooms are everywhere.

We’ve had a lot of rain so far this year, some snow too.

There’s something up there….if only we could climb.

Mother Nature does her own decorating.

The dogs know the way home.

And then, a few hours later, we are treated to a stunning sunset:

Sometimes I think I have died and gone to heaven.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in animal stories, daily Life, Mendocino, Mother Nature, posts with photos, Uncategorized, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to bear sign, hoofenwoofers, fun with fungi, and a Mendocino sunset

  1. Thanks for the tour. I enjoyed the walk in the woods with you.

  2. omawarisan says:

    hope you haven’t died, but yeah, I think youve got some good neighbors!

  3. Love the photos. Those mushrooms in the first one are wild looking. I’ve never seen anything like them.

  4. hoof, hoof, woof, woof, sniff, sniff…RT

  5. duckofindeed says:

    Nice pictures! I like your dogs’ names, especially Annabelle.

    • Zahara says:

      Annabelle is a sweetie, and is she pretty or what? Love her profile. She likes to bark at me whenever I put on my shoes and then she gets between my legs and the chair when I am trying to tie my shoes ’cause she’s a nut and she loves her walks as much as I do.

  6. Hippie Cahier says:

    Fabulous sunset.

  7. gorgeous sunset, love the photos, great blog you have 🙂

    • Zahara says:

      Thank you, Jeannetta. Your name sounds very lively, I like it. My middle name is Jeanne. And the blog feeling is mutual, thank you, happy trails, see you soon.

Leave a Reply

