Winter Visitor

 

All he’s done

is leave tiny black turds

in return for some butter

to fatten his babies.

Leaves succumb

frost whitens windshields

noses redden and run

rain blows sideways

trees tremble

and he returns

regular as Santa.

Cold and hungry he comes

to where it’s toasty and dry

and I’m supposed to murder him.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in animal stories, daily Life, food, housework, Mother Nature, Poetry, Uncategorized, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Visitor

  1. Well I am certainly glad your little mouse is a father(his babies). Finally comes a little recognition that men have a maternal instinct too. It took me 10 years for me to get custody and rescue my children from a drug and filth invested hell hole and as a single father I salute the stand you have taken(albeit unwittingly)in the post divorce issues of our age from the male prospective. Vindication has come. Although my children are approaching their 30’s vindication has finally come. They have animal friendly traps now that capture the creature so you can “release into the wild” as the label suggests and can avoid murder. However, in the wild means out the back door to the patio and he’s right back again. That problem should be directed to the Department of Vermin Relocation.

    • Zahara says:

      Indeed, the last mouse I relocated went 2 miles away, and yet this year’s mouse looks alot like last years mouse. I may have to go further still!
      Good for you, good for your kids, that you persevered and protected and rescued them.

  2. duckofindeed says:

    Aww, mousey. I don’t understand why so many people are afraid of rodents. I don’t want them in the house, but they’re not mean or anything. Nice poem.

    • Zahara says:

      Yes, they are harmless, I just wish they wouldn’t poop on the countertops. No manners! Since I quit leaving food out they seem to be temporarily deterred, we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

