Looking up, looking down, looking all around.

The sky looked like this in Petaluma on Thursday.

Today, at home, it is gray and blue and white.

Saturday afternoon and Marty is sleeping in my bed.  I am eating a vanilla/caramel ice cream cone and wondering why my computer’s speed has been set to “molasses.”

Twice this semester I have spotted this unusual fungus growing near a maple tree on a mulched bank that covers a bridge over the canal that runs through campus.  Now I have photographed it and googled it.  It is so strange, I wasn’t even sure it was a living thing ’til I looked it up:

Friends, meet Clathrus ruber, aka latticed stinkhorn, the basket stinkhorn, or the red cage.  But don’t stand too close.  He stands accused of smelling like rotting meat, hence his fly friends. 

Read all about him here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clathrus_ruber

Speaking of ruber, I mean rubber, and baskets, turns out the guys down at my favorite tire shop have studied basket weaving.

The rain is falling in earnest now, sky completely gray.  The wind is transporting a dizzy flock of leaves from a tall tree next door, over my neighbors house, and into my driveway.  Hello Fall.  

The washing machine churns while the dryer ticks, blue smoke from the chimney wafts across my view, branches squeal and tap against the front window. Marty snores on.  I think I’ll join him.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in college, daily Life, Petaluma, posts with photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Looking up, looking down, looking all around.

  1. …branches squeal and tap against the front window. Metaphor evokes audio and visual. Great one.

    Photo looks like cotton balls on plants that are ready to be harvested by the wind!

  2. Zahara says:

    Hi there. Cotton balls for sure, that’s what I thought too. Soggy by now.
    Ahhhh…if only wind could harvest cotton balls, American history would be a different story.

    • Am Hist different? With you there. This country built on two pillars: Pilgrim/Puritan work ethic w/ perseverance and the other pillar people today just can’t admit – black slave labor.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I always find great inspiration in well done used tire art 🙂

  4. omawarisan says:

    I think I want a nap now too!

    How on earth did you google that? Orange fly attracting thing on a pile of leaves?

  5. Oh holy stink bombs! That friend sounds like a real nuisance! Hope you have it figured out 🙂

    sweet dreams!
    CatMan

    • Zahara says:

      Welcome, Catman, thanks for stopping by, sorry that the place smells like rotting meat…………Clathrus ruber: I didn’t notice the smell, but it was enough apparently to attract some pollinators. This fungus is also known as “Witch’s Heart”, my favorite of it’s names. I was born in Salem, Massachusetts.

  6. Terrific description of feeling your day through your senses. The tire picture is awesome and I also am astonished that any bizarre thing I have in my mind and want to find out can be found on Google. I love that google can make the search work, but I also wonder who is putting in all this information?

    And yes, I love clouds… http://workingtechmom.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/do-you-love-clouds/

    • Zahara says:

      Good question. I am just glad they are there for me when such oddities cross my path. Your cloud post has me looking up more than ever, the clouds are especially interesting this time of year.

Leave a Reply

