Front-row shoes and purple hair

My statistics teacher  prefers that those of us who sit in the front row wear nice shoes.  I sit in the front row.  I’ve worn the same old pair of gray and white size 10 New Balance sneakers to class just about every week since August.  You’d think I didn’t care about my grade, but after Statistics class it’s a ten-minute hike across campus to my ceramics class, where the mud tends to fly.  I do try to mix it up a bit with interesting socks, such as my always popular Frida Kahlo socks.   The 17 year old who sits next to me regularly sports a fresh pedicure, a turtle tattoo and fancy flat sandals upon her pretty little feet.  She’s getting an A.

be jealous

Enough about feet, let’s talk hair.  Sunday was a big hair day for Ivan. 

The afternoon found me in the kitchen with vapors of ammonia, a bottle each of Lusty Lavender and Midnight Black, and two 9th graders; Chloe and Ivan.  First we bleached his thick, wavy, sandy brown hair down to orangey yellow, then we separated several chunks from the rest, slathered them with purple, wrapped them in tin foil, and painted the rest black.   After the final shampoo and conditioning, at his request, I smeared shaving cream on his upper lip and sideburns, and a razor touched his sweet face for the first time ever. 

Whaddya think about that?

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in college, daily Life, posts with photos, teens, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Front-row shoes and purple hair

  1. Son’s first shave is benchmark of life’s journey . This particular accompanying ritual leaves me at a loss for words, however. Good Lord. Is that a Sarah Palin sock? The woman will stop at nothing. I will vote for Roosevelt AGAIN this time.

    • Zahara says:

      Howdy, Carl. I guess purple hair isn’t for everyone. I like to support Ivans personal creativity/individuality/experimentation when I feel it is safe to do so.
      NO NO NO, I would never wear that woman on my sock. It’s Frida Kahlo.

  2. I can’t help but wonder how you know your teacher wants you to wear nice shoes. Maybe you should just sit in the second row…?

    Nice story about Ivan and Chloe. Did Chloe get a dye job too?

    • Zahara says:

      I know because he made an announcement during the first week of class about it. He was kidding, kinda.
      And no, Chloe’s guardian, her grandma, won’t let her dye her hair. She was a big help, though. And I’m sure Ivan didn’t mind having two women doting on him. It was fun.

  3. Frida Kahlo is pretty amazing. I remember watching a film about her in one of the Women’s Studies classes I took in college. She was intense.

    So… I LOVE YOUR SOCKS!!! 😉 (Where did you get them, by the way?)

  4. omawarisan says:

    You’ve gotta give some rope for experimentation somewhere.

    I still have nightmares about my stat class…and I havent used it since.

    • Zahara says:

      What is up with the Statistics nightmares? Seems to be a common experience among the survivors, a symptom of Post Traumatic Statistics Disorder.

      • omawarisan says:

        Post Traumatic Statistics Disorder almost shot past me…well done! I haven’t caught on to your major yet, but do you see any need for stat once you leave the class? I’ve yet to meet someone who has used it or remembers it.

      • Zahara says:

        Oma, shouldn’t you be practicing your routine for the wedding? And how do I get on the guest list?
        I am preparing to transfer into a Nursing program. If I were to get into public health nursing or administration, etc., I might use my newfound knowledge of statistics.

  5. Linda Lewis says:

    All I can say is WOW! Sounds like some hair job you did. We need to see a picture of the results. On another subject, are you still doing well in statistics? The socks must help!

    • Zahara says:

      Hi Linda, I would include a photo but Ivan is camera shy and also does not want a picture of his hair or any other part of him on the internet. Sure, but it’s ok for him to be the only kid of hundreds in his school to have purple and black hair.
      And yes, still doing well in Statistics, thanks for asking. It’s the socks for sure.

Leave a Reply

