A quick tour of the premises

Something is sprouting from the mat on my back porch.  My back yard is a verdant jungle.

…meanwhile, the front porch is getting it’s due.

atop the compost pile

Mr. and Mrs Pumpkinhead, may they rot in peace.

As long as we’re back here, let’s take a look around.

Most things are in a state of decay.

This echinacea flower popped up after all it’s siblings were spent.

Petunias are still going strong.  Gotta love the northern California climate.

Madonna of the garden shed presiding.

I know not from where this creature came.

Now go on, get out of here, go make yourselves useful on this beautiful Saturday.

 

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in daily Life, gardening, posts with photos, teens, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A quick tour of the premises

  1. Bee says:

    Hi Zahara. I particularly love your sprouting porch mat.

    • Zahara says:

      Isn’t that a crack up? When school is in session I step out back only occasionally on my way to the compost pile, and the site of the tiny green sprouts coming out of the plastic mat gave me a thrill. I must have had some good dirt on the bottoms of my shoes this summer.
      Thank you so much for stopping by, I really enjoyed perusing your blog, just my cup of tea.

  2. Haha, you’ve got a nice place.
    And the weird creature is just adorable!
    I WANT.

  3. I have to learn the photo insert thing and get a camera and learn how to use that too. Live in bland townhouse condo. Wish had planting space but try to keep brain fertile for blog stuff. In back patio, however along wood fence I have woven deep red-violet bougainvillea with light pale lavender bougainvillea and large vivid yellow alamanda and when all three in bloom condo quite explosion of crayons. No more tomatoes because leaf miner bug they attract destroy all other leafy plants.

    • Zahara says:

      I don’t know what you mean about vacating the bellsouth address.
      The photo insert thing is easy once you’ve done it a time or seven. An “explosion of crayons”, love your language, Carl, and I can imagine your patio, sounds beautiful.

  4. I LOVE CREATING AND RECORDING CHARMING METAPHORS OF OTHERS. HOW ABOUT “THEIR BOUNDLESS PASSION FOR EACH OTHER WAS LIKE THE OCEAN KISSING ALL THE SHORES OF THE WORLD”?

  5. Great photos and I am jealous of your madonna of the garden shed. I fear she would be tossed wildly about by wind in my yard.

    We also had beautiful weather in Toronto Saturday, but alas today is cool, rainy, grey fall day. I guess it’s perfect since I am off to an indoor hockey game with the kid.

    • Zahara says:

      I’m jealous of the madonna, too. She gets to stay home all day.
      I grew up in a hockey rink. My big brother and little sister both played, and my dad sold hockey equipment and sharpened skates in his bicycle shop during the winter. My favorite part was going to the snack shop and getting a hot chocolate from the automatic machine that made a really loud whirring noise after you pressed the button and then delivered a tongue-scorching beverage. Do they still have those machines?

Leave a Reply

