Mr. Pumpkin Head is fading fast

Sometimes I get so busy that an entire week can slip by without my hardly noticing. 

In which case Mother Nature gives me little reminders:

He had a chin last week

Next year I’ll carve my pumpkins a week before Halloween (instead of on Halloween eve) so they’ll look this creepy and scary on the big night.

That's his ear in the foreground. Poor Mr. Pumpkinhead.

Yes, they were way too perky a week ago.  No wonder I only got 5 trick-or-treaters.

This mess looks like a job for a shovel and a garden hose and a teenager! 

Lucky for me, I have all three.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in daily Life, housework, posts with photos, teens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Mr. Pumpkin Head is fading fast

  1. The death of the stern orange Halloween pumpkin.
    There’s only one thing worse, to which you may agree:
    Having to take down the family Christmas Tree.

  2. hahaha I love carving pumpkins! 😀

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    5? You got me beat…we did not get a single one…..our pumpkin is floating in the lake now….at least it was still floating yesterday….

    • Zahara says:

      Floating in the lake? Did you forget to carve it?! Or were you planning to go bobbing for pumpkins? Is that what you Texans do? Apples and buckets aren’t big enough for you, are they?
      It’s gotta be pumkins and lakes 🙂

  4. We didn’t carve any pumpkins but we did have 100 trick-or-treaters. I give out the candy every year, but this year delegated to the husband. He gave out so much candy to each kid, I had to tell him to turn out the light when he ran out or start baking cookies.

    And yes, I agree, that clean up looks like a great job for a teen-ager!

    • Zahara says:

      One hundred! That’s awesome. Must be fun to see so many costumed kids. I think those of us who live off the beaten path should donate candy or cash to those houses who get hit the hardest!
      Regarding shoveling past-due pumpkins, better him than me.

      • Sounds like a good idea. Donate the candy to us, and come along for the night. You would truly enjoy it. I talk to every kid, big and small, and make them tell me what their costume is, ask if they are having fun, etc. You can see them twitching to get to the next house but I figure they owe me 30 seconds and at least 3 sentences to get the goodies. I always send them off telling them how great (or scary, or beautiful, or real) they look!

      • Zahara says:

        My candy and I will be there, at least in spirit, next Halloween. And yes, interrogation is essential for maximum enjoyment, way to milk it!

  5. Haha Z!
    Poor Mr. Pumpkinhead. Well, he sure looks scary now.
    Arghh.
    Hope you get more trick-or-treaters next year 😉

  6. omawarisan says:

    Maybe if you leave it, it will turn into petroleum and you’ll be rich!

  7. duckofindeed says:

    Aaah, scary! I have a teeny pumpkin, and I drew a little mouth with teeth and little angry eyes in pen on some paper, cut it out, and taped it on. It looks cute and diabolical.

Leave a Reply

