weird blue masks

Ceramics class.  These are the masks I made yesterday.  It is required that we make a mask, and because I can get really fussy and spend way too much time on stuff, I decided to just whip these out in one three-hour class period.  So after the 35-minute lecture in which our amazing guest artist transformed a twenty-pound cube of clay into a sculpture of a dog hugging a fish, I got busy.

I’m not that happy with them, they look too much alike, especially the mouths.  And I don’t like the color much.  But it’s too late to change ’em now, they’re locked in my ceramics locker, uncovered and drying, and they’ll be bone dry by Monday.  I might add a little more paint before the initial bisque-firing.  After that I can add some high-fire glaze if I want, before they hit the really hot ovens on Wednesday.  

Here I brushed underglazes directly onto wet clay.  Our guest artist said certain underglaze colors can handle the high firing temperatures I intend to inflict upon these masks.  I might put them in the Soda kiln, where at around 2300 degrees farenheit, a mixture of baking soda and water is sprayed through small vents into the kiln, and the soda lands like snowflakes on the pieces and fuses with the silica in the clay, creating a glaze.  Good stuff.  Cool effects are achieved, or so I’m told, especially if you have alot of texture, and if you use Sonora White clay, which I did.  It’s just one big science project at this point.  Also, this high fire will allow the pieces to withstand living outdoors.  Maybe I’ll hang them on the fence above the marigolds.

All comments welcomed and I’ll bake you a virtual batch of chocolate chip cookies if you subscribe.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in ceramics, college, gardening, posts with photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to weird blue masks

  1. Wendy says:

    nothing like a dog hugging a fish to motivate a body; does it for me every time!! I love your masks – looking forward to see the color when they come out of the kiln

    • Zahara says:

      You’re funny! yes, it was oddly wonderful and cool and inspiring! Getting our pieces back after they’ve been fired is like opening a present, it’s exciting and you don’t know what you’re gonna get. This applies mainly to us inexperienced potters.

  2. Awww. Cheer up.
    😀
    They look super cool.
    And with a little more paint,who knows? 🙂

  3. Zahara says:

    Too kind. Ok, how ’bout a little less paint. I could strategically scrape some of it off. Or I could relax already and wait and see what firing does to it.

  4. Haha, you’re really too kind.
    And yeah, I once made a pot.
    It didn’t come out very well, but I was still proud of myself 😀

  5. omawarisan says:

    I like my cookies baked to the point they aren’t too crunchy

Leave a Reply

