miscellaneous restlessness

Feeling restless.  High tech, low tech, here is my desk, a folding table covered with a tablecloth and a chunk of oilcloth.  Shaping my blog posts, pinching the clay, looking out on a beautiful day. 

Create something using the coiling technique. 

Later, I rinsed a cup of french green lentils.   I fried some onions.  I chopped collard greens.  With my new knife.

I also added three cloves of chopped garlic and chunks of happy yellow crookneck squash.  I ate this soup for breakfast yesterday, so I’d have a clear head for the test.  It worked.

I’m boiling water for a cup of tea.  I’ll spare you a picture of that.

This afternoon I volunteered at a local children’s center for two hours.  Victor, a second-grader, and I hung out for over an hour, just the two of us.  We did his homework, then he taught me to play chess, and then the boardgame “Sorry!”.  Soon three other kids joined in.  In the last half hour of the day the whole gang divided into five groups of six and played Scattergories.  The kids were really into it.  Tiny young Valerie, who earlier taught me the ins and outs of playing Sorry!, climbed into my lap and reclined, resting her dark little head on my chest.  A long day for such a little girl.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in college, food, posts with photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to miscellaneous restlessness

  1. Sounds exciting!
    I volunteer at the children centre near my place too.
    And I love visiting the orphanages.
    I go there with a bunch of friends.
    I don’t know why, but looking at the smiles on those innocent faces when we bring them gifts makes me ecstatic.

    • Zahara says:

      Hey, there, bkb, another thing we have in common. Cool. The kids are sweet, I feel sorry for the little ones who spend the whole darn day in school and then childcare, possible without a hug or a nap all day long. What part of the world do you live in?

Leave a Reply

