Jay-walking and thrift-shopping in downtown Pet-a-Llama

No Llamas were injured in the writing of this post.

Theme for Friday: strange things crossing the street in strange places.

Driving through the bucolic countryside enroute to Pet-a-Llama, I swerved to avoid a large empty can rolling across the road, as did the cyclist I simultaneously passed.  Several miles later a voluminous empty chip bag blew across the road.  Someone was eating junk food and littering along my path.  Hmmmm….I usually never see litter along this road.

In keeping with this theme, I freely jay-walked several times once I got into town.  I crossed the road in places where I’d never crossed before.  I was not ticketed.

I was feeling my freedom on a breezy Friday afternoon.

I shopped.  I ate. 

 I got my ring cleaned.  I jay-walked again.  I went home.

 

That’s right, peeps, got a nice new 50 cent map of the U.S. to cover that bare patch of wall over the kitchen table.  And how do you like my new knife?  Three bucks and it’s a good one.  Thrift stores are great places to buy picture frames.  Soon I will fill these with mugs of Ivan, my favorite child.  And the pretty little golden Jesus picture is for my born-again-and-again friend Kate. 

Hope you all are having a nice weekend.  

It would make my day if you left a comment, or, subscribed.  You don’t want to miss a thing.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in food, posts with photos, thrift shop finds and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jay-walking and thrift-shopping in downtown Pet-a-Llama

  1. Sounds like you made quite a few finds!! 🙂 I love shopping, especially in places where you never know what “goodies” you’ll find. (For me, that’s our local, annual springtime library booksale, and every-so-often ventures to thrift stores in the area.)

    I also wanted to say that I love your photos. 🙂 I haven’t gotten up the bravado just yet to post any photos of things in my life… but then again, I still haven’t figured out a good direction for my blog, so yes.

    Hope all is well!!

  2. Zahara says:

    Hey there, thanks for the nice comment. Perhaps blogging without a “direction” is like going to college without declaring a major. Start taking classes and the major will find you. So keep writing! You mentioned poetry, I think that would be a cool form to take. Best wishes from Z.

  3. Haha. Thats a nice knife you got there! 😀
    And the photos are amazing, as always!
    Keep it up Z. 🙂

    • Zahara says:

      You are too kind, bkb! I am so happy with my new knife. My last favorite knife was the kind that rusts when it stays wet, nice and sharp but a pain in the butt.

  4. Todd Pack says:

    Don’t you hate how, when something’s cheap enough, you’ll get it, even if you don’t really want or need it? I stopped at a yard sale this weekend and bought a Nashville Predators flag for $1. (That’s our hockey team.) It’s probably 5 foot across. I have no idea what I’m gonna do with it, but it was a buck. How do you pass on a clean, untattered hockey team flag that only costs a buck?

    • Zahara says:

      I hear ya, Todd. Maybe you could use it for a blanket, or a tablecloth at your next hockey game party. Call me Martha Stewart. Yes, those $1 dollar deals are hard to pass up! Hockey in Nashville! I bet the Jolie would have enjoyed that had she visited during the winter.

Leave a Reply

