shiny new buildings and grumpy old men

Brand new art building.  Last semester at the community college, then it’s on to the University for nursing school.  Prerequisites behind me, this semester involves two art classes; Ceramics and Basic Digital Photography.  I shiver and shudder when I think of the brand-spanking-new computer lab on the top floor, with giant screens for each student, and Photoshop, and a view of the mountain. 

Non-art classes include Political Science, Spanish, and Nutrition.  This is alot.   Trying to decide what to drop if necessary.  Spanish is the only one I don’t need.  But I would really like to get started learning the language.  Dropping  an art class is not an option.  They are sacred to me. 

I have a lot on my mind.  It seems when my mind is in a jumble, my house is in a jumble.  Cluttered, disorganized.  Can I unclutter my mind by cleaning my house?  Probably.

Yesterday I snapped at the cashier in the college book store, the grumpy gray-haired man with the red-rimmed eyes.  He was rude to me when I was temporarily confused about the two books I was about to pay an arm and a leg for.  (After he rung them up I realized they were the same book, just different editions.)  So I told him he didn’t need to be rude.  Then he said something else and I told him I didn’t want to argue with him, I just wanted to buy the damn book.  I may have raised my voice slightly.  He called for another cashier to deal with me.  She was nice, I was nice, but trembling and on the verge of tears.  Can you say PMS? 

Most times I carefully choose my words, and most times I am as nice as pie and polite.  Occasionally words spill untethered from my mouth, faster than my conscious mind can censor them, like the blood that spills monthly from other parts of me.

Have a lovely day, everybody.

About Zahara

gardener, cyclist, student, mom,
This entry was posted in college, daily Life, Mother Nature, Not-so-amazing stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to shiny new buildings and grumpy old men

  1. I’m right there with you, Z. I can totally relate.

    Regarding the Spanish class, you might not need it, but I bet it will come in handy in a nursing career. (I’m biased…I was a Spanish Language and Literature major in college.) ;-) If they’re offering an intensive course with 9 hours of classtime a week, including main class, drills, and language labs, go for it. That’s how I learned Spanish and Italian and you’d be amazed at your skills after only one semester.

    In comparison, I also studied Russian in college, which used the standard model of 3 hours per week, mostly learning from a language textbook. Not even close. On a bright note, I was able to read the text on a bottle of vodka that my parents brought home from Russia. ;-)

    • Zahara says:

      Hi Margaret, thanks for the advice. Regarding “needing” Spanish, I meant as far as a pre-requisite. I really want to take it, and I know it’ll come in handy, but it may have to wait. Decisions, decisions…..I’ve got the poli-sci and Nutrition to keep me busy, and i’ve got to weigh in the teenager!

  2. Even though art class may be sacred I suggest you drop both to take courses that will pertain to nursing degree as long as they are transferable credit. That would give you a jump on nursing classes. You must be very sure they will be accepted. I did not take my art classes because although I could use some training my art ability would remain with me. So I focused on career courses. Spanish would be very important. In Miami for instance, the advancement track needs Spanish, Haitian Creole, English and computer skills. You have to make compromises re the art. When you get your nursing degree you can always take courses for pleasure and always keep your interests. I don’t know how old you are but career should be your primary concern. I hope you would consider this advice in the spirit in which it is given and in this economy it is crucial that you have a job skill that will stay in demand no matter what happens and health care would fit into that category.

    • Zahara says:

      Howdy, Carl, I appreciate your input. I guess it’s because I’m 47 (eeks) that I’ve learned to balance things, and also live in the now. I’ve spent the last four years completing all my nursing pre-reqs. Nutrition and Poli-Sci are co-reqs for a BS in Nursing, so I wanna get ‘em outta the way. Darn old Spanish. I want to take it, but I don’t wanna be overwhelmed and unable to have time for family.
      This just in: I’m dropping Ceramics and keeping Spanish.

  3. CatMan says:

    Zahara- don’t feel bad–it happens to the best of us! There’s always tomorrow!

    • Zahara says:

      Singing now…..”the sun’ll come out, tomorrow, bet your bottom dollar that tomorrow”……feeling better already….belting it out…..”tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya, tomorrow….you’re always a day away”. Whew. Thanks, I needed that.

  4. Oh Zahara. I cannot disagree more with Carl. (Sorry Carl.) I can hear how art makes your heart sing. A singing heart makes the world go round. Your life go round and…it keeps me from yelling at cashiers. Messy life, messy house? Add art. Lots and lots of art. Because when your heart is full everything finds its place with peace.

    Pollyanna signing out.

    • Zahara says:

      Welcome, Rebecca Pollyanna! Add art! I love that advice. I took ceramics last semester, 2-D and 3-D art fundamentals the two semesters before that, loved it all, stayed up late mesmerized and obsessed working on my projects! This semester it’s learning photoshop and how to use my new camera. Good Stuff! I wish that adding art would help with the housework, hasn’t happened yet, maybe I’m not adding enough?

  5. Don’t be too hard on yourself for snapping at him or raising your voice. We all do it sometimes. Just forgive yourself, and make sure you don’t do it every day!

  6. afrankangle says:

    The hyped bookstore prices have always been a trigger. Nonetheless, consider doing yourself a favor. Stop by the bookstore, find the first clerk, and apologize. You’ll feel better, and he will be touched more than you imagine.

    • Zahara says:

      Hi, yes, I’m considering this. Maybe next week when I’m feeling less vulnerable.

      • afrankangle says:

        You’ll be fine …. and if turns out to be an idiot about it … that’s ok b/c you did your part … so you will still benefit … just don’t let me make you snap!

  7. huffygirl says:

    Oh, How I remember those days of paying $800-$900 for a few books, and then repeating it the next semester. I don’t know why all college texts have not gone digital – it has got to be less expensive. Good luck on your semester and don’t be too hard on yourself.

  8. Pingback: Listen to Your Mind and Body When Doing Something As Simple As Cleaning « A Friend to Yourself

Leave a Reply

